Posted on

first_imgMike Mangal and Patrick Prashad, contenders who had for some time been knocking at the proverbial door, seeking admission among the accomplished golfers on the local scene, were finally able to triumph over their competitors in the Trophy Stall Golf Tournament held on Sunday at the Lusignan Golf Course, ECD.Maurice Solomon though, in his usual inimitable style, continued his winning streak to emerge first in his category of the tournament.The tournament’s top performers. (From L-R): Kevin Dinanauth, Mahesh Shivraj, Mike Mangal, Rabi Sukul, Bridgelall Harry, Patrick Prashad, Richard Haniff, President Aleem Hussain, Robert Hanoman, Dr Joaan Deo and Maurice SolomonThe weather was good, the golf course was in excellent condition, and so was the mood of the golfers as they vied for supremacy in one of the usual highlight tournaments of the year.In the ‘A’ or Championship Flight (handicap 0 – 9,), winners were Mike Mangal 72/80 – 1st place, and youthful Kevin Dinanauth (son of the former Guyana Open champion Mohanlall Dinanauth) 78/81 – 2nd. Receiving honorable mention in this category were Nazeem ‘Papo’ Haniff 81/88, and Richard Haniff, 82/91.In the ‘B’ Flight (handicap 10 – 18), the winners were Patrick Prashad 69/79 – 1st place, and Lekhnarine ‘Mahesh’ Shivraj 71/88 – 2nd place. This category, which has the most golfers of the three categories, usually has as keen competition as the Championship Flight. Other golfers who played well but did not reach the winners’ row were (Club President) Aleem Hussain 73/83; Parmanand ‘Max’ Persaud 75/89; Joaan Deo 75/91; Kalyan Tiwari 76/89; (winner of the Flight in the Crown Mining Tournament of Wednesday, August 22,) Aasrodeen Shaw 77/91, and Gavin Todd 79/96.In the ‘C’ Flight (handicap 19 – 28), winners were Maurice Solomon, 79/100, and Robert Hanoman, 80/128. Mark Lashley, 91/115, also performed creditably in the ‘C’ Flight.Two additional prizes were awarded to Patrick Prashad – one for the Best Gross of 79 and the other for the overall Best Net of 69. Nearest to The Pin was won by David Harry, while the Longest Drive was won by (the often winner) Richard Haniff.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *