Posted on

first_img(REOPENS DEL 13) (REOPENS DEL 13) Having struck a match-winning 48 against Pakistan in the Asia Cup, Soumya has cemented his place in the side. The 2009 champions Pakistan, meanwhile, boast of arguably the most potent pace attack with the return of left-arm pacer Mohammad Amir, who has seamlessly integrated into the side after his spot-fixing ban. With Mohammad Irfan and Wahab Riaz, the three left-arm quickies showed what theyre capable of in the Asia Cup. Pakistan would bank on their bowlers do the job for them as batting is not the teams strong point. Shahid Afridis men have had troubles with their top-order, prompting the selectors to twice tinker with the squad. After their group stage ouster with defeat to Bangladesh in Asia Cup, Pakistans preparation for the premier tournament was hampered. Moreover, the change of venue for the Indo-Pak match from Dharamsala to Kolkata due to security reasons and subsequent delay in arrival to India has also not helped their cause. Apart from the four-match Asia Cup outing in Bangladesh, Pakistans only other preparation for the World T20 has been the inaugural Pakistan Super League in UAE where the players featured for different franchises. Mohammad Hafeez made a stellar 70 not out in their 15-run win over Sri Lanka in the warm-up match yesterday and Pakistan would hope that he continues with his fine form and others in Sharjeel Khan, Shoaib Malik, Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal fire in unison. It is perhaps the last chance for Afridi, who has come under scanner due to his lack of form on the field and comments off it, to silence the critics with his bat and also chip in with his leg-spin. He has done it with his all-round show en-route to winning 2009 title, and he has it in him, boasting highest wickets of 93 and a terrifying strike-rate 148.92 in T20Is, to do it again. It will a redemption time for Afridi, again. Teams (from): Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Arafat Sunny, Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Sabbir Rehman, Abu Hider, Nurul Hasan, Al-Amin Hossain, Nasir Hossain, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed, Mohammed Mithun, Mustafizur Rahman. Pakistan: Shahid Afridi (c), Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Mallik, Mohammad Irfan, Sharjeel Khan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Sami, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Amir, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Khurram Manzoor. Match starts 3 pm IST. PTI TAP CM PM PMadvertisementlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *